Posted by: Jo | April 30, 2010

GACKT – GACKTIONARY: 11 (ACTION)

Er just so you guys know, the next entry will be Ch.13, not Ch.12. Val-san decided to skip it for now, but she’ll come back to it later (if you must know, it’s about history and how to learn from it… kind of hoping she remembers to get back to it n.n; )

11.
I choose to use my memory, rather than recordings.

When people go on a trip, they all like to dangle cameras from their necks, you know? Some member(s) of my band also likes this style [of traveling], but I think they’re missing the point here. [I want to tell them to] release the shutter with their mind’s eyes, instead of looking through the finder. That’s a good one (LOL*).
People actually don’t get to look at the pictures they took all that often. They’re not really necessary, but people want to take a lot of them for some reason. I guess it gives them a sense of reassurance. But because of the sense of reassurance, they don’t try to look [at the scenery, etc.] with their heart.
The same can be said about people who take so many notes during meetings and classes. They are focused on writing things down, and the act of writing makes them feel better. Because they are so preoccupied with writing, they often fail to catch important information. They are confusing the act of writing with the work itself or the things they’re supposed to be doing. This won’t do. It doesn’t work because feeling reassured will keep them from truly memorizing things.
Instead, if you really concentrate on remembering information with a sense of tension, thinking that you may forget it if you don’t write it down, then you actually won’t forget it, and you’ll never miss any important information. This is the same thing.
You need to commit [a scene] to memory while thinking “I may never be able to see this again…”  If the scene really touches you, you should truly look at it. There’s no time for taking pictures. As long as you are truly looking at it, [the picture] you took with your mind’s eyes will never fade.

Translator’s Note: Just a quick edit. G almost always really “generalizes” his thoughts and concepts in GACKTIONARY. He can’t write about all the exceptions or explain in further detail because he doesn’t have the space. So, in this case, when he says we shouldn’t take pictures, I do believe that he just means we shouldn’t spend all our time taking pictures and that he doesn’t have any problem with taking a few pictures here and there for keepsakes. =3 And I also kind of realize that the habit of incessant picture taking might very well be more of a Japanese thing. (You know the stereotyping of Japanese tourists with cameras on TV and movies? ^^;;;) So, maybe he’s mainly talking about that. After all, I’m sure he wrote the book thinking that most of the readers would be Japanese. =P

*My Note: Just as a general FYI, the LOL indicates that GACKT was laughing in the text, not that the translator was laughing at this point n.n;

Translated by excused_early
Originally posted at the G Says Community LJ
Do not re-post without permission!

Responses

  1. This is a little quick note from excused_early:

    Just a quick edit. G almost always really “generalizes” his thoughts and concepts in GACKTIONARY. He can’t write about all the exceptions or explain in further detail because he doesn’t have the space. So, in this case, when he says we shouldn’t take pictures, I do believe that he just means we shouldn’t spend all our time taking pictures and that he doesn’t have any problem with taking a few pictures here and there for keepsakes. =3 And I also kind of realize that the habit of incessant picture taking might very well be more of a Japanese thing. (You know the stereotyping of Japanese tourists with cameras on TV and movies? ^^;;;) So, maybe he’s mainly talking about that. After all, I’m sure he wrote the book thinking that most of the readers would be Japanese. =P

    I wonder if I should put these notes in the actual post rather than the comments.. what do you guys think o.o?

  2. These notes seem pretty important, so I’d add them to the post. In fact, before reading these notes I was like “Er…I can’t say I agree with that. o.O”. But after reading your comment it made more sense to me. I guess it would be logical for him to think most of his readers are Japanese after all. =P

    I mean… who doesn’t like pictures? xD If I were on a trip…with GACKT o.o; …I wouldn’t just be taking pics, I’d be filming the whole thing. ^_^;;

    • Victoria: Alrighty, I’ve gone and added important notes here and there 8D
      When I go on trips I tend to take pictures for little keepsakes but I also spend a lot of time just taking it all in. Especially nature – every since Japan I’ve kinda been really into the greenery lol.
      Hahaha same xD

  3. Actually, a majority of Indian tourists are like that too (my family included). They absolutely love taking pictures at every moment of the trip. But, I don’t seem to have inherited that at all; simply because I’m so lost in the surroundings that I forget to take even a single picture. Still, all the trips that I went to alone and didn’t take pictures on are the ones I remember most clearly so I think I agree with him on this one.

    It even happens to me during class, like when a teacher says a certain point is really important and I keep forgetting to note it down; it’s usually the one I remember until the test. ^____^”

    • Shweta: I’m with you on that one – the memories last longer methinks. Usually a lot of the pictures I take just end up on a CD or in the corners of the harddrives anyway, but they’re always fresh in my mind *___*

      I actually hate when that happens, because usually I’ll forget what the important fact I was concentrating on earlier was XD


Leave a Reply

Categories

