Posted by: Jo | February 11, 2011

Bootleg BUNRAKU Trailer

Some of you may already know this, but there are multiple videos up on YouTube with the “official” BUNRAKU trailer.
I want to let you guys know that these vids are completely false. The footage going around is a short demo-reel meant only for sales promotion and never intended for public viewing. It is NOT an official trailer (or anything close to a trailer for that matter) and as it has been uploaded without the consent of the film’s producer and other parties involved, it is an illegal bootleg that violates a lot of copyrights.

Mr. Calder was trying his best to have the original video taken down, but unfortunately YouTube hasn’t been the quickest in responding. And as a result, the video has spread like wildfire over the net.

I know that by even mentioning the existence of these videos, there will be some people who will check them out regardless. But please note that this leak could have negative repercussions for the movie itself in terms of interest, sales, promotion, distribution, etc. I’m not saying that it will, but after almost 3 years of waiting for the film, I’d hate to see anything happen to it because people aren’t patient enough. GACKT, Josh, Woody, Keith, Guy, and every person involved with the film worked too hard for it to go to waste =\

There’s nothing that can really be done now to prevent the footage from spreading, but you can make the choice to not watch it at all.
Just something to think about.
*steps off her soapbox lol*

Responses

  1. !!!!!! this is terrible i will make sure i don’t watch it deffinately!!!!!!!!!!! GACKT and crew worked too hard to see there efforts ruined by this video!!!

    p.s. thank you for the warning ❀

  2. I sincerely hope that it doesn’t kill the movie. That would break my little heart. Three years is a long wait, but I bet it’s going to be more than worth it!

  3. I’m doing my best to avoid anything Bunraku-related, so I’m so glad I hadn’t watched the non-trailer. I sincerely hope those fans responsible for the video footage realize what they have done in possibly ruining everything for everyone related to the making and promoting of the movie. And they are ruining it for fans all over the world who’ve been biting their nails waiting anxiously for the release of the movie. This is a prime example of the oh-so-common trait “not thinking before acting.” Bloody idiots.

  4. Thanks for the clarification – completely understand where you’re coming from and totally agree. Hence I don’t think you were on your soapbox at all haha πŸ™‚

  5. I totally agree. I’m the same; I’m waiting til the movie comes to the big screen. It will be well worth the wait πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

