Posted by: Jo | March 11, 2011

To those in Japan…

I just want to extend my deepest hopes, thoughts, prayers, and love to those who have been affected by the earthquake and tsunami. I hope that the destruction clears away as soon as possible and that everyone can get back on their feet.
I also want to send my feelings to those countries and states who are also under a tsunami warning, i.e. Indonesia, the Phillippines, Guam, New Guinea, Taiwan, China, Russia, Australia, Hawaii, the entire U.S. West Coast, and everyone within the Pacific region.

For those who are wondering, GACKT, Job, and the staff are alright. Most of them have either tweeted or blogged after the fact and GACKT has replied to a couple of emails as well. Other JRock and JPop musicians are also okay (if there’s a specific group/artist you’re worried about I’d be glad to help you out in the comments) and the same goes for well-known Dears in the fandom living in Japan.

I don’t know what else to say, but just know that the world is with you right now.
If you want to contribute and help out those in Japan, below is a list of official sites and organizations that you can donate to or that can help those find their loved ones.
I will be putting up more links as I find them or as they are suggested:

Yahoo has a list of charities and organizations to donate to.
Network for Good has set up a fund that forwards donations to official charities and organizations on it’s list.
American National Red Cross
ShelterBox
Halogen
Save Japan!
For those with LiveJournal accounts, the community Help_Japan is raising money for disaster relief via auctions and user-sumbitted artwork.
Google Person Finder (in Japanese)
Google Person Finder (in English)
Togetter’s list of relief shelters (in Japanese)
Text REDCROSS to 90999 to make a $10 donation to the American Red Cross
For those in Canada, you can donate online at redcross.can
Text MED to 80888 to donate $10 to emergency relief efforts to the International Medical Corps.
Text JAPAN or TSUNAMI to 20222 to donate $10 to the Save the Children Emergency Fund
Text JAPAN to 50555 to donate $10 via Global Giving
Text JAPAN or QUAKE to 80888 to make a $10 donation to the Salvation Army’s relief efforts.
Text 4JAPAN or 4TSUNAMI to 20222 to donate $10 to World Vision.

Stay strong and safe.

Jo

Responses

  1. i hope Japan will be fixed soon, it is a terrible thing to have happened nature has cruel ways. i am glad everyone is fine, but i can’t help feel bed for the others in Japan who were not so lucky 😦 i sent a silent prayer to everyone as soon as i knew, lets hope the situation can only get better, and that it does so fast ❤

  2. My family thinks I’m nuts because of my devotion to Gackt, but when this terrible thing happened in Japan, my mother and my sister each emailed me with only one question: “Is Gackt okay?”. They were both very concerned, and relieved when I told them he was. I know part of that is because they love me, and they know how I would feel if something bad happened to Gackt, but I also know that he has managed to slowly work his way into their hearts too. 🙂

    My heart is broken for the people in Japan who were not as lucky as Gackt and his loved ones. I wish only the best and I hope this horror comes to an end soon.

    • I want to add that I donated $20. It’s not a lot, but I’m sure it will help

  3. It’s terrible what’s happened in Japan. I saw it one the news at dinner and my mouth was open at the sheer shock of the damage caused.

    I must admit, my immediate thoughts were of Gackt and his members and if they were alright. I’m glad they are ok. My thoughts go out to those who have been affected and I wish the best for everyone in Japan ❤

  4. When I saw it, I have to admit I didn’t think about Gackt or anyone who was famous. All I could think was my fututre home is going to be destroyed and despaired because of it. It was only about two hours later when I didn’t actually know the damage that I was watching the videos and watched as a house was lifted from the ground and dragged off in a flod that I thought of Gackt and despaired more. I truly do respect Gackt as a person. I was on the phone with my friend and she said, I can understand why you care about that one person. Which made me think of every single J rocker that I love and now I have to wonder about them. I’m truly glad Gackt is alright and donated to Japan. It was only twenty dollars but I hope it does good. But I can’t help but wonder how Hyde and Miyavi is doing.

    • Same, I was shocked and worried and just prayed that everyone living there would be okay and that the damage would hopefully subside as soon as possible.

      Miyavi and his family are all okay btw~

  5. I was watching the NICONICO live feed and the images were just frightening. All that water just knocking everyone’s hearts and homes over and carrying them around like they were paper. I hope they can manage to get help to those most affected soon.

  6. Oh, thank god…he and the band are alright. I just feel so bad for everyone in Japan. My heart goes out to them. All of them.

    Any news on the members of Versailles?

    • All the members and staff are okay, no worries ❤

  7. one of my roommates from my university tried to call me this morning about the earth quake. It first hit china, and she was worried about my relatives there, but I know they were safe, when I opened the tv when I saw what happened to Japan I was like OMFG!! (Japan is my favorite country more than China)!!! I was praying that everyone is safe and the entertainment stars as well. I am still praying for everyone’s safety, Gackt including…

  8. It’s just horrendous what Nature can do–it does what it does and doesn’t care what is near it. I’ve read that the quake was the result of a masive x-solar flare. And that the one before it resulted in the New Zealand quake.

    We are all thinking of you, Japan.

  9. […] charities, organizations, projects, and numbers you can donate to, join, participate, and text in this post. I’ll probably re-post the information at a later date, but for now please keep an eye on […]

  10. I definitely plan to donate! What a horrific thing. My heart goes out to Japan and her people.

  11. Aww, I just got a facebook message from my friend at uni asking if Gackt was ok. She said ‘hope your guy is ok despite what is happening in Japan’. She couldn’t remember his name, bless her. It’s the thought that counts. It’s so nice the number of people that are thinking of the those in Japan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

