Posted by: Jo | May 16, 2011

GACKT – GACKTIONARY: 30 (THINK)

Trying to get back into my regular posting habit – please bear with me if I fail @__@;;

30.
I can’t play the keyboard, but I can play the piano.

These are the words I uttered accidentally when asked “GACKT-san, will the keyboard do?” while appearing in a music program. I thought, If you want a keyboardist, ask Tetsuya Komuro. The questions themselves may be very simple without much thought behind them, but if you respond to them with “OK” or “Sure” without thinking carefully, this can often lead to major problems later on.
First, the keyboard and the piano are different instruments. I’m a pianist, not a keyboardist. Sure, I can play it if I wanted to because they’re both musical instruments with fingerboards. But if I answered “Sure, the keyboard will do.” just because I can play it, that would mean I abandoned one of my policies. I’m not saying that the keyboard is bad. It’s just the matter of my own policies and how I want to be treated.
I mean, don’t you think that’s insulting to the keyboardists? There are definitely good things unique to the keyboard, and if I have to use it suddenly, I couldn’t express [my music] 100% with it. I wouldn’t want to accept [a request like that], knowing that I’ll only be able to do a half-assed job with it.
So, I think it’s a huge mistake to put the keyboard in front of an artist who can play the piano and ask him to play the keyboard. I don’t want people to make music programs based on such assumptions.
There’s another issue similar to this. The production staff of programs tends to call all the cast “talent“, no matter who it is. This happens often in Japan, and I object to this, too. I’m not a talent. I’m an artist, and a musician.
This, which may seem like a trivial difference to some, can develop into a big problem later. This will influence the way I’ll be treated later, and they’ll assume that I’m fine with it and may even start treating me more and more haphazardly.
This is a matter of one’s stance. A talent is required to know his own mark [on stage] and to have mastered certain techniques. I’m not saying I couldn’t do it. But at this point in time, I haven’t reached that position [of a talent] and won’t be able to deliver 100% of what is required of a talent. Unless you let them know right off the bat that the marks [of a talent and a musician] are fundamentally different, even a smallest verbal difference can become a major issue later on. They might think “Why won’t he just do this?!“. This is easier to understand when the situation is reversed. When you treat a talent as a musician all of a sudden, he often can’t perform or fail on stage. Then people would inevitably say “Why can’t he do it, isn’t he a musician?“.
Clearly claiming your own position is equally important in sports, such as baseball, soccer, and basketball. A nonobservant person or an amateur might think a player could perform well even if his position is changed, but from the player’s professional point of view, just having his position (mark) changed may make him unable to demonstrate 100%, or even 30%, of his ability.
So, these are the things I said to them. In the end, we ended up using a grand piano during the program.
You need to recognize that words like “Sure, no problem” can sometimes be risky words that lead to major issues later on.

Translated by excused_early
Originally posted at the G Says Community LJ
Do not re-post without permission!

Responses

  1. He’s so positive, I love reading these Gacktionary entries. Thank you so much for posting ^___^

  2. Thank you very much for posting 🙂
    And thanks for the link to the definition of ‘talent’ as understood by the Japanese!! Good to know!!

    As a musician, on one hand I think Gackt’s making a great point XD
    If I’m hired as a ‘musician’, there are certain expectations, and asking me to do things outside those expectations can jeopardize the viewpoint the employer has of me and also my ability to BE a ‘musician’.

    On the other hand, you can’t continue to grow as an artist and become a versatile performer without adding to your abilities here and there…even if it means dropping the ‘musician’ output to 90% once in a while.
    i.e. Gackt was asked to play the shamisen while playing the role of Uesugi Kenshin. So he had to act and make music at the same time, and his primary instrument is not the shamisen. It’s possible that professional shamisen players watching the series were turned off. But it was something he wanted to do, and in the end performing this way garnered him new respect in show biz and made him seem even more versatile and desirable. As if that were even possible ;D

    I guess what I’m saying is, I hope people won’t read this and think Gackt is a snoot for not wanting to play the keyboard XD There are times to expand your knowledge and become more versatile, and there are times when doing so could damage your reputation for sure!

    ❤

    • Couldn’t agree more~!
      To me, Gackt’s main message in this entry is to be able to take your stance in life and hold onto what you believe in. If you let others dictate what you can and can’t do, people will have a wrong impression of you. So it’s up to you to forge your own path and way of doing things and to let others know and understand that.

      That’s just me of course lol but it’s something everyone can understand and appreciate x3~
      Now I wanna listen to EVER…


Leave a Reply

Categories

