Posted by: Jo | May 23, 2011

GACKT – GACKTIONARY: 31 (THINK)

31.
You can love other countries because you love your own country from the bottom of your heart.
If you don’t know your own culture, you couldn’t deliver that to other countries, right?
Could someone who doesn’t value his own family be kind to other people’s families?

This is a comment I made with regard to nationalism.
When talking about nationalism, the Japanese tend to think it’s a right-winged concept, but my interpretation is different.
For example, there are even teachers who are against singing “Kimi Ga Yo” today. What’s wrong with “Kimi Ga Yo“? They say that it’s a song about revering the Emperor and whatnot. I receive mail from overseas fans about this. They say that they were shocked by the fact that I’ve sung “Kimi Ga Yo” in the past.
Now, why did I sing “Kimi Ga Yo“? First of all, I have the understanding that this is a love song.
It’s a love song about one’s hopes for the world, in which the one he loves exists, to continue being this peaceful for a long time, even thousands and tens of thousands of years, long enough that moss will grow and spread over the entire rocks. So, this is Japan’s most famous love song, you know?
It’s nonsense to make a shallow argument without even knowing the meaning of the song.
Next, why can’t I sing my own national anthem? Why can’t I love my own country?
I want to ask, can someone who doesn’t love his own country love someone else’s country? Can someone who doesn’t love his own family be kind to others? How can someone who is not even kind to his own family be kind to other people?
This is the most fundamental principle of love.
Someone who can’t even love his own country couldn’t recognize wonderful things about other countries. Only if he knows the greatness of his own country, could he also recognize and appreciate the greatness of other countries. This is a very important thing.
Wherever I go [overseas] – Korea, Taiwan, China, etc. -, people always say that I’m pro-Korea, pro-Taiwan, pro-China, etc. But what I don’t want them to misunderstand is this. It’s not that I dislike Japan and prefer overseas. The point is that I can appreciate the wonderful things about other countries because I love so many things about my own country.
So, let’s love our own countries more. That’s the true meaning of nationalism. It’s not a term used just to defend our countries. It’s like the prerequisite knowledge you should have before looking into other countries.
I call this “neo-nationalism”, with the hope that the next generation will hold a concept like this.

Translated by excused_early
Originally posted at the G Says Community LJ
Do not re-post without permission!

In case you’ve never heard Japan’s national anthem :3…

Responses

  1. Oh I love this video. He sounds beautiful acapella. His voice could melt chocolate XD

    • He melted me too… ๐Ÿ˜›

    • I’m quite convinced if chocolate had a sound, it would be Gackt’s voice ;P

      • Lol! I love that, Jo ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. From an outsider’s perspective, there is no doubt in my mind that this man loves his country. I think that it’s great that he likes to visit other countries and learn from them. I’m from the States, and while I don’t agree with some of the things that my country has done, I still love my country. It’s my home! At the same time, I appreciate other countries, Japan being one of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Never stop loving your country, Gackt, and keep on singing “Kimi Ga Yo.”

    • I’m with you on that. America has it’s share of problems, but it’s where we live and there are still a lot of wonderful things about it ^^~

  3. Thanks for posting!
    I love reading his words and I couldn’t agree more on this one ^_~
    So, letโ€™s love our own countries more >> Definitely GACKT, that’s really important.

    • i dont see what’s wrong with a country’s national anthem..his beliefs are pure, i feel the same about canada and i know my country’s anthem in both french and english, ya, it’s cool…one’s culture is the essence of their being, the fabric of who they are, and of their ancestors, i never forget my roots and the elders who walked the land before me..very mystical.. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

