Posted by: Jo | October 3, 2011

GACKT – GACKTIONARY: 46 (LOVE)

46.
I can meet her again when I awake.
Sleep is my blissful time, for the evanescence and moment of happiness await me at the end of it.

I’m a very short sleeper. I truly only rest for the minimum necessary amount of time, so my sleep time is very short. Unless I’m with a girl, that is. [When I’m with a girl], sleep is extremely ‘tanoshii’ to me. I don’t mean this ‘tanoshii’ as in “楽しい tanoshii” [楽 raku = easy], but as in “愉しい tanoshii” [愉 = sweet and pleasant].
Why do I think it’s “愉しい tanoshii“? It’s because of its evanescence. For example, there’s a girl I really like right in front of my eyes, and I fall asleep thinking “I really love this girl” with my face very close to hers… But I become separated from her the moment I fall asleep, right?
No matter how much I like her, either I leave her first or she leaves me. We have no choice but to be separated during sleep because we can’t share our dreams. At a moment like that, a laughter wells up in me (*LOL). I think to myself “I love her so much, and yet I still need to leave her.” Then I wake up, and sometimes find us sleeping far away from each other.
This just amuses me. No matter how much we say we’re in love with each other, we’re all alone in our sleep. No matter how much we say “I’ll never leave you“, you wake up and find your partner sleeping at an inexplicable spot or tossing around in bed, and I go “Hey, c’mon now….
I thought we were sleeping face to face, but in reality we’re sleeping with our backs to each other. So wistful and bitter-sweet (*LOL). When I feel this, I feel tremendous loneliness and wonder what in the world it was that I wanted to do. And then I suddenly become disenchanted.
You see, people are all solitary in the end. You realize that people are solitary, and that we can all live surprisingly well on our own.

*My Note: Just as a general FYI, the LOL indicates that GACKT was laughing in the text, not that the translator was laughing at this point n.n;

A bitter-sweet chapter ne? ;___;

Translated by excused_early
Originally posted at the G Says Community LJ
Do not re-post without permission!

Responses

  1. uhm :/ so he have to find a woman that doesn’t use to sleep in the three last positions:

    • But ultimately, he’s right… Two people just won’t share dreams every nights, not even in Inception.

      • yes but you could dreaming about the person you have next to you, I think that he should try to find a really good person to share his life

  2. Aw, this made me chuckle. Whenever I read his sleeping blogs I think of my parents, my Dad usually sleeps on the sofa and I tell him he shouldn’t cos he’s married LOL.

  3. It’s worth it in the end, isn’t it? When you find that person, who turned away from you in a strange position, tossing in bed..yet calls out your name and reaches for empty air. And then you know, you aren’t truly alone.

    I hope he can find someone like that, who fills his life to the brim with happiness during the day. That way, sleep-time seperation is nothing but a necessary means to adjust their thoughts and feelings for tomorrow’s smiles.

    He deserves it, I think.

    • aww i agree, G needs someone special like this 🙂 ❤ xxx

  4. I hope we all can see Gackt happy >3 even he needs a women to comfort him >3

    • I would love to see the day where he found someone special and shared that love with the whole world ^^~


Leave a Reply

Categories

